The Magic of Cambria

A while back, I was lucky enough to spend the night in a small, coastal, California town called Cambria. I had been there once as a wee child, but could not remember it much. It was a bit o’ a last moment booking, and the only place available was this little bed and breakfast.

I was blown away. It was the cutest place I have ever stayed at! Not only was the service fabulous, but the place was beautiful and quaint! From the outside, they had the prettiest color blue on the house. The style was a bit o’ ‘Americana’, but it was done with a touch of ‘garden’ and ‘Victorian’.  As ye can see from the photos below, it was simply stunning. I felt like I had been teleported to a country cottage in England – or what I might imagine one to be.

Behind the house was the most beautiful garden that was matched by perfect summer California weather. I could not have asked for a more peaceful place to relax. Of course, pictures of the flowers and the garden were necessary.

Behind the garden was a creek running lazily along its way. Unfortunately there were no good pictures of that.

If ye find yourself in the backwoods of San Louis Obisbo, California, I highly recommend a trip to Cambria. It has all of the charm required of a perfect weekend getaway, with a splash o’ magic to help ye soul truly escape. It is the kind of place ye might be inclined to enjoy a cup of tea in the cool ocean sunshine.

One of the tea cups I bought in one of the Cambria shops. Made in Japan around 1960.
One of the tea cups I bought in one of the Cambria shops. Made in Japan around 1960.

 

Leave a Reply

