Decorating for March

Well it’s certainly springtime here. In the span of a week, we have gone from snow to 90 degree heat. Yup – love livin’ in the desert!

That being said, it is only March. March! Really? Wow. And what comes in March? Aye, ye guessed it – me favorite holiday! In case you didn’t already know, I am proud of my Irish heritage. I take a lot of inspiration from the land of my ancestors in my art and creativity. The theme of my apartment is a wee bit old country, with a heap of Ireland and a double-helping of sunshine!

My base tones are taken from the Irish flag (That you can see above my couch and my family history.) Most of the furniture I have was given to me by my family when I moved out after college. Actually, my couch was my Great-Grandmother’s, and despite that, it’s got a great neutral tone to it. I dressed it up with pillows from Pier One World Market. I had to make sure they had a rustic feel in order to fit into the theme, and I chose pillows with almost a straw-like texture to them.

I found doilies in Solvang, CA that were white, green and orange leaves that make perfect accents to my dark wooden tables. The candle on this one is a Turf candle (Seeing as I have no fireplace). I make sure to keep the coffee table clear of clutter, seeing as it is small and low to the ground, so it is easy to knock into something. My magazine’s change depending on the season, but I do not put all of them on display because that would be too much to look at. I also keep my china cabinet clear of clutter – just a few professional (fancy) pictures and some Irish children figurines.

I have a bird-feeder just outside the window next to the couch, and there is nothing more relaxing than laying on the couch and watching the birds go crazy for it! I made sure to have that right next to the window for that reason.

As for my kitchen, the theme continues. Green and white towels, orange candles and real shamrock plants! I try to keep the kitchen more  clutter-free because it is, in fact, a work-area.

I hope ye all have enjoyed a little taste of fun, functional, Irish design in spirit of this wonderful St Patrick’s Day!

May your troubles be less, And your blessings be more. And nothing but happiness come through your door.

For more inspiration on all things St Patrick’s Day, plan a visit to Irish Central and Erin go Bragh!

Love Triangles BlogInterested in all things Irish? Check out my other blog – a place of 100 Themes come from the novel I wrote with my best friend!

5 thoughts on “Decorating for March”

  1. I do not drop a leave a response, however I read a lot
    of responses on Decorating for March | Cat Mann Studios.
    I actually do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind. Could it be only me or does it seem like a few of the comments come across like they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing at other sites, I’d like to keep
    up with you. Could you post a list of all of all your social networking pages like your linkedin profile,
    Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a Reply

