Enchanted by the Æbleskivers!

I recently spent a weekend in Solvang, California. (Aka, Little Denmark, for those of you that don’t know.) Amazing place, if I may say so myself. If you like quaint and cultural, then this is a must! Everything is within walking distance, and there is a wee bit of something for everyone. The food is amazing, and the sweets are to die for! I finally tried Æbleskivers for the first time, and I think I’m in love. You see, I am a large fan of pancakes, and these things are like little bite-sized-balls of pancake-fluffy-goodness! My boyfriend and I stayed at one end of town, spending the day wandering about the streets before retiring early to the hotel. This place is so old-fashioned that nearly everything closes at 5pm! As if the shopping isn’t reason enough to visit, just the chance to look at all of the Danish architecture is pleasing! I left feeling more proud of my own Viking blood. Aye, ye heard it here first. I am a Viking. I have none other than some of the fiercest bloodlines, so ye better watch yer selves, or I’d be forced to… to… (ahh, who am I kidding… I’d sooner paint yer face than pierce yer skin.)

As I sat in the Greenhouse Cafe one morning, I took notice of the colors of the buildings in Solvang. They’re so… interesting! But lord they use so much decorative wood. I found myself thinking that the slanted beams ye see simply cannot be structural. And yet – it’s all so beautiful. Everything seems so symmetrical too. That ‘cottage’ look is one of my most favorite. (Maybe it has something to do with my heritage?) A cottage is normally ‘cute’ and ‘quaint’, but is also colorful and full of life. Yeah, sure, the post-modern, mostly white look of practically everything in Los Angeles, California has it’s own appeal and can be pretty at times, but there’s no warmth in that. (Other than the global warming the 24/7 traffic is causing…) I find that I am more comfortable in a place that has ‘charm’.

2charm 

a : to affect by or as if by magic : compel
b : to please, soothe, or delight by compelling attraction
(for more, see Merriam-Webster Online)

Yes, I do believe that is it. That is the key word in everything. Solvang is oozing with charm and therefore, I find myself drawn to it. I want to holiday in Ireland because the land of my heritage has charmed me. Perhaps more than anything else, as creative people, we wish to charm our audience into coming back for more.

Leave a Reply

